联系行业专家

名字:* 姓:* 电话:邮箱:* 我们能帮您做什么:

注册消息提醒

名字:* 姓:* 邮箱:* 公司:* 

德州 FRONTERA 能源中心

项目范围

恒星能源公司为 Frontera 能源中心设计、生产、安装及调试了一个按需定制的燃气轮机进气冷却系统(TIAC),该系统包括一个水冷式制冷机组和一个采用冷水分层设计的热能储存罐,通过独特的盘管设计使过滤房的改造变得简单,此外,盘管采用创新式的防冻系统,即使在冬季里遇到温暖的气候,TIAC 仍可正常使用。不仅如此,该系统还配备了一个容量为 3,000,000 加仑的热能存储罐,两(2)个带冷却盘管的进气过滤房,一个(1)6,780 TR 的模块化水冷式水冷机组,在工况正常情况下能够更好地支持 GE 7FA 燃气轮机机。

FRONTERA TIAC 案例研究

恒星能源公司为位于德州 Mission 的 FRONTERA 能源中心设计、生产、安装及调试一个定制的燃气轮机进气冷却系统(TIAC)。

TRANE 公司开展的 FRONTERA TIAC 案例研究

按照 Direct Energy 公司的要求,恒星能源设计了一款节能型燃气轮机进气冷却系统,以提高其 Frontera 能源中心的盈利能力。

“这是一个时间紧迫的项目,在要求和预算方面比较严格。其成功的关键在于恒星的丰富经验、专业技术、业务灵活性及开诚布公的交流。” —— Direct Energy 公司电力部主管 Tim Kennedy

一个具有挑战性的项目

Frontera 能源中心位于美国德州 Mission,该地区的炎热气候持续时间较长,全年平均气温在 80 华氏度以上的天气超过 3,500 个小时。与现有的蒸发冷却系统一样,在电力需求较高的夏季,机械制冷机组的功率限定在 497 兆瓦左右。鉴于当地的气候条件和远期市场需求量的快速攀升,机械制冷机组将成为一个明智的投资。

项目解决方案

Stellar 能源公司为 FRONTERA 能源中心设计、生产、安装及调试了一个按需定制的燃气轮机进气冷却系统(TIAC),该系统包括一个水冷式制冷机组和一个采用冷水分层设计的热能储存罐,通过独特的盘管设计使过滤房的改造变得简单,此外,盘管采用创新式的防冻系统,即使在冬季里遇到温暖的气候,TIAC仍可正常使用。不仅如此,该系统还配备了一个容量为 3,000,000 加仑的热能存储罐,两(2)个带冷却盘管的进气过滤房,以及一个(1)6,780 TR 的模块化水冷式水冷机组,在工况正常的情况下能够更好地支持 GE 7FA 燃气轮机机。

考虑到当地的气候条件和客户目标,恒星能源建议对采用平衡结构的水冷式机械制冷机组的冷水泵和冷凝泵使用 N+1 余量配置,与容量 300 万加仑的热能储存罐(TES)结合使用,以便利用两个小时的超峰值性能实现 12 小时的局部存储。

“采用平行结构设计的制冷机组性能更佳,当一个制冷机出现故障时,机组的整体性能不会因此而受影响。“恒星能源产品提供了额外的余量设计,这是一项增值服务,使恒星能源系统脱颖而出,也是我们决定为 Frontera 项目选择恒星能源工程小组的关键因素。”—— Direct Energy 公司电力部主管 Tim Kennedy 

根据《联合循环杂志》报告,“进气室在布置上的改进是显而易见的……Frontera希望将新的进气系统安装到现有的钢架上,以免影响进气加热系统和消音器。另一个节省成本的目标是避免改装管道系统。” 该解决方案包括一个设计,即由上部盘管产生冷气,在进气口处,每个盘管上的散热片数量(片数/英寸)是理想的,因此,制冷机组下游能够产生温度均匀的冷气。

Kennedy表示,“恒星能源为Frontera能源中心提供了一个智能的、定制的、经济的解决方案。” “这是一个时间紧迫的项目,在要求和预算方面比较严格。其成功的关键在于Stellar的丰富经验、专业技术、业务灵活性及坦诚布公的交流。”

成果

用于 Frontera 能源中心的燃气轮机进气冷却系统 (TIAC) 在 100 华氏度条件下的输出功率增加了 53 兆瓦,通过夜间蓄能,在白天节省一半的备用电力负荷,从而降低了资金成本,在不使用制冷机组的情况下,能够利用热能储存罐中的冷水连续运行 2 个小时。

浏览我们的项目
查找项目:
了解更多的电厂解决方案

Contact an Industry Expert Now!

First Name:* Last Name:* Phone Number:Email Address:* What can we help you with:

Sign Up For Blog & News Alerts

First Name:* Last Name:* Email:* Company:* 

Frontera Energy Center

Project Scope

Stellar Energy designed, procured, manufactured, installed and commissioned a custom Turbine Inlet Air Chilling (TIAC) solution for Frontera Energy Center that included a water-cooled chiller plant, thermal energy storage tank with stratified chilled water design, a unique coil design that simplified the filter house modification, and an innovative freeze protection system for the coils that allows the TIAC system to remain in use during warm days in the winter. The system features a 3,000,000-gallon thermal energy storage tank, two (2) inlet filter house retrofits including cooling coils, and one (1) nominal 6,780 TR water cooled modular chilled-water plant to serve two GE 7FA Turbines at the Guarantee Case.

Frontera TIAC Case Study

Stellar Energy designed, procured, manufactured, installed and commissioned a custom Turbine Inlet Air Chilling (TIAC) solution for Frontera Energy Center in Mission, Texas.

Frontera TIAC Case Study by Trane

Direct Energy challenged Stellar Energy to design an energy-efficient turbine inlet air chilling system to help increase the profitability of its Frontera Energy Center.

“This was an aggressively scheduled project with critical requirements and budgetary parameters. Stellar Energy’s experience, technical expertise, flexibility and frequent open and honest communication were keys to the success of this project.” - Tim Kennedy, Director, Upstream Power, Direct Energy

Project Challenge

Frontera Energy Center is located in Mission, Texas, an area with prolonged hot conditions where temperatures are typically in excess of 80F more than 3,500 hours annually. Even with its existing evaporative cooling system, the plant was limited to approximately 497MW during the high demand summer season. The site’s weather conditions as well as a trend indicating a sharp rise in forward market heat rates made a mechanical chilling solution the smart investment. 

Project Solution

Stellar Energy designed, procured, manufactured, installed and commissioned a custom Turbine Inlet Air Chilling (TIAC) solution for Frontera Energy Center that included a water- cooled chiller plant, thermal energy storage tank with stratified chilled water design, a unique coil design that simplified the filter house modification, and an innovative freeze protection system for the coils that allows the TIAC system to remain in use during warm days in the winter. The system features a 3,000,000-gallon thermal energy storage tank, two (2) inlet filter house retrofits including cooling coils, and one (1) nominal 6,780 TR water cooled modular chilled-water plant to serve two GE 7FA Turbines at the Guarantee Case.

In consideration of the site’s conditions and the client’s objectives, Stellar proposed N+1 redundancy configuration on both the chilled water and condenser pumps utilizing water- cooled mechanical chillers in a parallel configuration combined with a 3-million-gallon Thermal Energy Storage (TES) tank to deliver 12 hours of partial storage with a two-hour superpeak capability.

The parallel chiller design provides added system reliability – in the case of a single chiller loss, the entire plant capacity is not shutdown. “The extra redundancy provided in the Stellar Energy design is one of the value-added benefits that differentiated them and factored into our decision to select the Stellar Energy team for the Frontera project,” said Tim Kennedy, Director, Upstream Power, Direct Energy.

Combined Cycle Journal reported “Innovation is evident in the inlet-air house arrangement.... Frontera wanted its new inlet system to fit on the existing structural steel to avoid disturbing the inlet bleed heat system and silencers. Another cost-saving goal was to avoid reconfiguring ductwork.” The solution included a design whereby cooler air is produced by the upper coils and the inlet features an optimal number of fins per inch on each coil so that chilled air is produced at a uniform temperature on the downstream of the chiller.

“Stellar Energy delivered a smart, custom and economical solution for Frontera Energy Center,” said Kennedy. “This was an aggressively scheduled project with critical requirements and budgetary parameters. Stellar Energy’s experience, technical expertise, flexibility and frequent open and honest communication were keys to the success of this project.”

Results

The Turbine Inlet Air Chilling (TIAC) solution for Frontera Energy Center increased output by 53MW on a 100F, cut auxiliary load in half during the day by storing energy overnight, reduced capital costs, and enabled the plant to run for 2 hours (superpeak mode) on chilled water from the TES tank without the chillers operating.

Browse Our Projects
Find A Project:
LEARN MORE ABOUT OUR ENERGY PLANT SOLUTIONS.